Volume 9, Issue No. 4, July/August, 2017
One-room, country schools that featured wooden desks, chalkboards and small groups of students ranging in ages from elementary to high school once thrived in Iowa. In 1901, there were 12,623 one-teacher schools. Today, there are seven public one-room schools in our state. Bill Sherman, a longtime Iowa History Journal contributor and authority on the subject, writes the first part of our special three-part series devoted to the history and preservation of little schoolhouses on the prairie. Our cover story publishes during summer vacation, but old school lessons are always in session at Iowa History Journal.
Publisher Michael Swanger shares good news that Iowa history will once again be taught in schools and downtown Des Moines’ Jackson Street Bridge re-opens.
John Skipper unlocks time behind bars with the history of the old Iowa State Penitentiary.
Discover how old iron rules at Midwest Old Threshers Reunion with John Busbee.
The final lap. Bill Haglund writes about the history of the century-old Fairgrounds racetrack and plans for a new one.
Take a historical journey of Creston with Ashley Rullestad.
Join columnist Arvid Huisman as he recalls the day the carnival came to town.
Book reviews: Learn about the real rivalry between Iowa and Iowa State and sketches of a boyhood in Marion.